Everything You Need To Know About Nigerian Postal services

The Nigerian Postal Service commonly known as Nipost, is a government-owned and operated corporation in Nigeria.,This page will guide you on everything concerning Nigeria postal services,office locations across the 36 states and capital city,Abuja including Postal Regions and Their States.

ALSO CHECK:The Perfect Nigeria Zip code that you need now

Furthermore, with the sudden emergence of e-mails like Gmail,Yahoo etc, postal services in Nigeria seem to be obsolete and completely outdated. However, many people still use the post office or to send and receive documents and packages within and outside the country. Moreover, in foreign online stores, overseas schools and organizations need both zip codes. Unlike private courier services like DHL, FedEx and tastes, Nigerian postal services are more affordable, although they seem to take longer to deliver.

READ ALSO:The Perfect Nigeria Zip code that you need now

The Nigeria postal service is responsible for providing postal services in Nigeria It has more than 20,000 employees and runs more than 5,000 post offices. The Nigerian Postal Service also have the following Business Ventures, EMS, Bulk Post Venture, NIPOST Central Workshop, Philatelic Services, Courier Regulatory Services, Parcel Post Venture and Nipost PostCash.

  • What is postal codes

Postal codes, Zip codes or postcodes refers to series of letters or digits or both, included in a postal address for the purpose of sorting mails without hitches or errors.

Nigerian Postal Service

Image result for nigeria postal service
Nigerian Postal Service

Established by the colonial masters in 1852, The Nigerian postal service (NIPOST) dates back to the 19th Century. Government-owned and operated corporation, NIPOST provides postal administration and services to Nigerians. There are over 5000 running post offices with more than 20,000 employees hence its wide coverage.

The Nigerian Postal office provides services like

  • Mail services
  • Counter services
  • Private mail bag
  • Special delivery
  • Financial services
  • Postal media

NIPOST divides the country into 9 regions which makes up the first digit of the code. The second and third digits combined with the first are the dispatch district for outgoing sortings. The last 3 digits represent the delivery locations- post office facility, rural area or an urban area. The postal head office has their postal code ending with 0001. The  Abuja has a postal code 900001, Lagos 100001 and Port Harcourt 500001.

ALSO CHECK THIS: NIPOST Recruitment 2019/2020 Application Form Portal | www.nipost.gov.ng

Every local government in each state have Post offices.

Credit: Hotels.ng

Postal Regions and Their States


With a postal code 100001, Lagos is the leading State in this region as well as Ogun state with postal code 110001.


Headed by Oyo State with postal code 200001, It has other states Kogi, Kwara and Osun State.


The lead dispatch district for this region is Edo State (300001) with states like Delta, Ondo, and Yobe.


This region consists of Enugu (400001), Abia, Anambra, and Imo State.


Rivers (500001), Akwa Ibom and Cross River State.


Borno with postal code 600001, Adamawa and Taraba State.


Kano 700001, Bauchi and Jigawa State.


Kaduna 800001, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto and Ebonyi State.


Federal Capital Territory (Abuja) 900001, Niger and Plateau State.

States And Their Postal codes