Kano State–Everything you need to know about Kano state

Kano State–Everything you need to know about Kano state

Kano is a state in Nigeria and falls within the north-west geopolitical zone. It is located 456.1 km north-east of the city of Abuja, and 1,151.7 km north-east of the city of Lagos.

Kano State has a size of 20,131 km² as the smallest state by size in the north-west geopolitical zone of Nigeria, but have the largest number of local government areas in the entire country. Within its borders are 44 local government areas.

According to the 2006 national population and housing census, Kano State is the largest state by population in Nigeria with a population of 9,401,288.

Kano State’s indigenous population consists of the Hausa and Fulani people.

kano state
By nairaland.com

 Kano city

These are some of the popular and prominent cities in Kano city

  • Capital City – Kano
  • Dala
  • Dambatta
  • Garzo
  • Gwale
  • Gwarzo
  • Hotoro
  • Kabuga
  • Karaye
  • Nassarawa

History of Kano State

In 1967 in the regime of General Yakubu Gowon, Kano State was created and was one of the six states formed from the split of the former Northern Province.

Kano state existed as part of the Northern Region from 1960 which was the Nigeria independent day to 1963  as one of the three regions of Nigeria till today.

The regional system was terminated in 1966 after Major General Johnson Thomas Umunnakwe Aguiyi Ironsi was enthroned by a coup and replaced it with a provincial system.

The provincial system was also terminated in 1967 when General Yakubu Gowon was enthroned and replaced it with a twelve state structure which Kano state was one of the twelve states newly created.

Kano State was not touched during the 1976 state creation exercise embarked upon by the regime of General Murtala Ramat Mohammed.

After eleven years when General Ibrahim Babangida became the president of Nigeria he considers Kano state too large for easy administration, he then removes Jigawa State from it and that has remained the same up till this day.

The first military governor in Kano state was Audu Bako while the first elected governor was Muhammad Abubakar Rimi.

Kano State Local Government

Like every other state government in Nigeria, Kano State Government is made up of three arms of government, the executive arm, the legislative arm, and the judicial arm.

The Kano State Government, like every other state government in Nigeria, is made up of three arms: the executive arm, the legislative arm, and the judicial arm. The executive arm of the Kano State government is headed by an elected governor.

The legislative arm of the Kano State Government which convenes at the Kano State House of Assembly is made up of 40 members elected by the people of the 40 state constituencies of Kano State.

The judicial arm of the Kano State Government is headed by the Kano State Chief Judge.

kano Nigeria Map

kano Nigeria Map
By premiumtimesng.com

Kano is situated at 11.99° North latitude, 8.51° East longitude and 479 meters elevation above the sea level. In Nigeria Kano is a very large town and having inhabitants of about 3,626,068.

The Kano map helps anybody around the world to locate exactly where it is located in Nigeria.

With the help of your mobile device, computer, laptop, tablet.etc. you can browse the internet and have the satellite view of Kano state which gives you full topographic details around your actual location from you your home.

Kano State Population

The widely disputed result of the 2006 national population and housing census put the population of Kano State at 9,401,288, with 4,947,952 males and 4,453,336 females.

Kano City Picture

Kano City Picture
By hausa.knottedpost.com

The principal inhabitants of the city are the Hausa people. As in most parts of northern Nigeria, the Hausa language is widely spoken in Kano. The city is the capital of the Kano Emirate. The current emir, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, was enthroned on 8 June 2014 after the death of Alhaji Ado Bayero, the thirtienth emir of Kano Emirate, on Friday, 6 June 2014.

History of Kano State pdf

Kano state was created on 27 t May 1967 and shares borders with Katsina State to the North-west, Jigawa to the North-east, Bauchi, and Kaduna to the south (KSO, 2011).

The state has a land mass of approximately 21,000km 2 and is 900 km from the edge of the Sahara desert and some 1,140 km away from the Atlantic ocean and 472.5m above the sea level (Barau, 2008). According to the 2006 Nigerian Population Census Kano has a population of 9,383,682 people.

Located on latitude 12 0 North and longitude 8.30 east, the city is within the semi-arid Sudan savannah of West Africa.

Kano is a cosmopolitan settlement comprising of a significant number of other Nigerian ethnic groups, West Africans, Sudanese, Lebanese, Yemenis, Libyans, Syrians, Indo-Pakistanis, Europeans, other Asians etc (Barau, 2008).

Agriculture is the largest sector in Kano State in terms of provision of employment and income to the population.

Kano senatorial zones

Kano state has a total of 44 local government areas grouped into 3 different zones that are otherwise known as senatorial districts. The 3 senatorial districts of Kano state are:

  • Kano Central
  • Kano North
  • Kano South

Kano Central senatorial district has 15 local government areas. The 15 local government areas of Kano Central senatorial district are:

  • Dala
  • Gwale
  • Dawakin Kudu
  • Gezawa
  • Tarauni
  • Fagge
  • Garum Mallam
  • Kano Municipal
  • Kumbotso
  • Kura
  • Madobi
  • Minjibir
  • Nasarawa
  • Ungogo
  • Warawa

Kano North senatorial district has 14 local government areas. The 14 local government areas of Kano North senatorial district are:

  • Bichi
  • Shanono
  • Bagwai
  • Dambatta
  • Makoda
  • Tofa
  • Gabasawa
  • Gwarzo
  • Kabo
  • Rimi Gado
  • Dawakin Tofa
  • Tsanyawa
  • Kunchi
  • Karaye

Kano South senatorial district has 15 local government areas. The 15 local government areas of Kano South senatorial district are:

  • Albasu
  • Bebeji
  • Bunkure
  • Doguwa
  • Gaya
  • Kiru
  • Rano
  • Takai
  • Ajingi
  • Rogo
  • Kibiya
  • Tudun Wada
  • Garko
  • WudilSumaila


As we can see clearly,Kano State is a state located in Northern Nigeria. Kano State is Nigeria’s most populous state and the commercial nerve center of Northern Nigeria with a GDP of over $12B. Also, Kano state.  whose Geographic Profile is: 12°00N 8°31E. Kano State has been a commercial and agricultural State, which is known for the production of groundnuts as well as for its solid mineral deposits. If you’re a Nigerian and haven’t visited Kano state for once, try and do so before you eventually kick the bucket.Its one of the best cities to visit.