List of countries in Africa

List of countries in Africa

Countries in Africa–Surrounded by water from all directions, Africa is a continent with clearly defined borders. In the north it is separated from Europe by the Mediterranean Sea, in the northeast, it is separated from Asia by the Suez Canal and further by the Red Sea. From the east and southeast, it is surrounded by the Indian Ocean, from the west by the Atlantic Ocean. Here is a full List of countries in Australia / Oceania.

READ ALSO:Top 15 Technologically Advanced Countries in the World

Africa is the world’s second largest and second most-populous continent, being behind Asia continents in both categories. At about 30.3 million km² including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of Earth’s total surface area and 20% of its land area.

ALSO CHECK OUT>>List of African Countries with Strong Currency

Area: 30.37 million km²
Largest city: Lagos

Population: 1.216 billion (2016)

The total number of independent states in Africa is 54. The transcontinental country in this region is Egypt, which also has a small part of its territory in Asia, on the other side of the Suez Canal, but politically is a member of the African Union.You can also check out the  Full List of 7 continents of the world and consider your precise location.

Among the African countries, the largest is Algeria, which occupies about 7% of the territory of the continent. And the smallest nation is Seychelles, the luxury vacation destination on the world-famous beach, which occupies 115 islands that extend along the eastern coast of the continent.

Colorful Morocco is in the first place among the most popular travel places in this part of the world, the second place belongs to South Africa, followed by Egypt and Tunisia.

The  up-to-date list of countries of Africa in alphabetical order

  • A
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • B
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • C
  • Cabo Verde
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic (CAR)
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of the
  • Congo, Republic of the
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • D
  • Djibouti
  • E
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini (formerly Swaziland)
  • Ethiopia
  • G
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • K
  • Kenya
  • L
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • M
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • N
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • R
  • Rwanda
  • S
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • T
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • U
  • Uganda
  • Z
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe