List of countries in South America

List of countries in South America

List of countries in South America--This continent occupies the entire southern part of the supercontinent of the Americas, which is why it is called South America Unlike Countries in North America. It is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean from the west, by the Atlantic Ocean from the east and north, by the Caribbean Sea from the northwest and connected to North America in the northeast. A land border between two continents extends along the border between the state of Panama and Colombia.

Image result for List of countries in South America

In total, there are 12 independent countries and 3 dependent territories in South America. The largest country by area and the most populous is Brazil, occupies approximately 50% of the total continental area, and more than 52% of the population lives in its territory. The smallest independent state is Suriname, it is the only nation in this region, which speaks Dutch as the official language.

As for travel, the most visited among South American countries are Brazil, Argentina and Peru, the latter being home to the most famous tourist attraction in the region, Machu Picchu, the mysterious city of the Incas.

Here is an updated list of countries of South America in alphabetical order
  • A
  • Argentina
  • B
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • C
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • E
  • Ecuador
  • G
  • Guyana
  • P
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • S
  • Suriname
  • U
  • Uruguay
  • V
  • Venezuela